View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Sphinx
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Moscow, Russia
|
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 12:01 pm Post subject: Can't load D compiler preference. |
|
|
Hi!
I use Eclipse version 3.0.2 on Linux (FC 3), after install eclipseD plugins version 0.2.2, i can't see a window->Preferences->D Compiler page. I have a next error message:
"Unable to create the selected preference page.
Reason:
Plug-In org.dsource.dbuilder was unable to load class
org.dsource.dbuilder.preferences.DCompilerPreferencePage."
In what there can be a problem?
p.s. I use eclipseD plugins in the first. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hasan
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 12:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmm, well, I'm not sure, that sometimes happen to me while I'm developing it.
Unfortunatly the releases I make are not tested, because I have no one to test them for me.. so I just assume that if they work for me then they would work for everyone.
anyway, the page has been moved to
Preferences-> D -> D Compiler
So, when you're in the preferences window, click on the D category first.
If you still see the D compiler page directly under preferences, I assume you didn't delete the old version.
The only thing I can tell you right now is ot try and delete the old version.
When you install a new version, you have to manually delete the old one, or else they can conflict with each other or cause some undefined behaviour. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sphinx
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Moscow, Russia
|
Posted: Tue May 24, 2005 2:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm sorry, I have not correctly specified in a previous post, certainly the page is in a Preferences-> D -> D Compiler.
Anyway, the behaviour remains same, the mistake at attempt to open this page (see the previous post).
Before I did not install the version eclipseD, on it previous versions at me are not present and was not.
May be have a sense to remake this package (org.dsource.dbuilder) from source codes locally on my computer? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hasan
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for the late reply. It's mainly because I'm not sure what is the source of the problem.
Yes, you can try building it yourself from the source if you know how to.
I think we really need beta testers. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Comatoast
Joined: 13 Jun 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
I also have this problem with 0.2.2 using Eclipse 3.1RC2
This is a fresh install of Eclipse and EclipseD.
(screenshot)
I'll try again with Eclipse 3.0.2 later and see if the result is the same.
edit: yup, same problem on 3.0.2 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StringCheesian
Joined: 31 Mar 2005 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same here.
I extracted the eclipse SDK (version 3.0.2, linux GTK), and then extracted eclipseD 0.2.2 into the eclipse folder. Is this the correct way to install it?
Possibly related: When I try to open a .d file, I get this: Quote: | An error has occured. See error log for details. |
I don't know where to find the error log |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sphinx
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Moscow, Russia
|
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
To hasan:
Hi!
I rebuild eclipseD plugin from source codes and have found out/has corrected some problems.
1. The first problem is described in first my post, she's about error message where i select page Preferences-> D -> D Compiler:
If in the left panel (Package Explorer) the project that this mistake is not chosen is error shown, otherwise, if is chosen and in focus - that is not present. (This problem is shown and in other places.)
As I have solved it:
In class org.dsource.dbuilder.projects.ProjectSettings method with you code:
Code: |
public static IProject getSelectedProject()
{
return DebugUITools.getSelectedResource().getProject();
}
|
and my variant:
Code: |
public static IProject getSelectedProject()
{
IProject iProject = null;
org.eclipse.core.resources.IResource iResource = null;
iResource = DebugUITools.getSelectedResource();
if (iResource != null)
iProject = iResource.getProject();
return iProject;
}
|
This solution works stably, but on how many is true - I do not warrant .
2. Problem with a name of a target file name for compilation on Linux (.exe not vaild).
n class org.dsource.dbuilder.projects.ProjectSettings method with you code:
Code: |
public String getOutputFile()
{
if( output == null )
{
//if no output is specified, return the project name as the output file
return getProject().getName() + ".exe";
}
else
{
return output;
}
}
|
and my variant:
Code: |
public String getOutputFile()
{
if( output == null )
{
//if no output is specified, return the project name as the output file
String sys = System.getProperty("os.name");
if (sys.startsWith("Windows"))
return getProject().getName() + ".exe";
else return getProject().getName();
}
else
{
return output;
}
}
|
This solution works stably, if casually to define a target name with .exe (property "output") it will intercept the compiler.
3. From here, it is necessary to add "-of" parameter in a final line of compilation.
In class org.dsource.dbuilder.compiler_interface.Compiler.java method with my addition:
Code: |
public void compile(List fileList)
{
........................................................................
//add the output file as a parameter with -of flag
dmd.appendParams("-of" + getOutputFile());
............................................................................
}
|
It works normally.
These problems and their decisions are shown and corrected by me on platform Linux FC3 and dmd v0.125.
I apologize if I in something am not right .
Best regards, Alexey (aka Sphinx)! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hasan
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 1:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, you're working on linux?
Maybe that's the source of the problem ..
I'm not aware of the implementation details of the STW, but I'm thinking it's not a "compile once run anywhere", or something like that.
Comatoast, are you working on linux as well?
StringCheesian, you should get a directory structure similar to this:
Code: |
+ eclipse
+ plugins
+ org.dsource.builder
+ org.dsource.editor
|
something like that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StringCheesian
Joined: 31 Mar 2005 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hasan wrote: | StringCheesian, you should get a directory structure similar to this: |
Ok, that's how it's installed - thanks. But I still can't open .d files, nor the D compiler preferences page.
I'm also on Linux, btw. I just assumed that because eclipseD was written in Java it would be portable - I've never heard of a java app that doesn't run on Linux. So it's Windows-only?
I would try Sphinx's changes, but I know nothing about Java let alone how to properly modify Java code... do I just make the changes and that's it (like a scripting language), or do I have to compile it afterward? etc... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Comatoast
Joined: 13 Jun 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 4:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
hasan wrote: | Comatoast, are you working on linux as well? |
Nope, I'm working on Windows XP SP1.
I also don't know Java, but I'll download the platform SDK and see if I can try to implement Sphinx's first fix. It's likely the other problems don't apply to Windows platforms. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Carlos
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 396 Location: Canyon, TX
|
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
BTW, I had the same error on Mac. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hasan
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
I tried a fresh install of eclipse on another PC, and I downloaded and extracted eclipseD 0.2.2, and the problem you describe occured. (D Compiler preference page didn't open).
However, I tried playing around with it for a bit .. didn't really do anything, just opened and closed eclipse a couple of times, switched to the Plugin Development prespective, etc .. but I didn't compile or build anything ..
Then I tried to open that preference page again just to see what the error messege was, and boom, it worked, the page just opened.
I don't know what was causing that or why it worked after a while, but I have a guess:
see, I have my builder path set to something like
e:\dmd\dmd\build\build.exe
and I'm guessing this path is somehow getting compiled as the "default" or something like that ..
since that path is not valid on many computers, it causes problems (that path wasn't valid on the PC I tested on, it didn't have an e:\ drive).
and I'm guessing the preferences for that page just kind of "cleared itself" after the first-time-faliure.
I guess you may try this if you are still having the problem: create this path on your computer
e:\dmd\dmd\bin\build.exe
if you have an E:\ drive on your WinXP box, and see what happens. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|