Download Reference Manual
The Developer's Library for D
About Wiki Forums Source Search Contact

Better project organization

Posted: 11/03/10 15:13:31

I'd like to discuss about the problem of project organization, not only Tango, but D projects in general, because I noticed that some of Tango developers work on GDC and LDC, too. I'm an open-source developer, too, and for those years I learned that for the end users, project management is almost as important as the project itself. In other words - no matter how good the project is, without a reliable organization and organizational activity it will usually fail. As I observe D scene for a while, I realized this is one of the biggest problems of this language, not the fact that the programming tools haven't reached the required quality yet.

Let's take a look at Tango, where the recommended way to obtain it is to download it from trunk repository. How seriously can be it treated by serious software development groups, when everywhere in the world trunk repositories contain the least stable, the most experimental code? How seriously the project can be treated, if the last release is clearly mentioned as "it will not work, use trunk instead"? We talk about the standard library, one of the critical language components, which has to be reliable.