The Developer's Library for D
About Wiki Forums Source Search Contact

Daylight Saving Time in Formatted Time

Moderators: larsivi kris

Posted: 04/13/09 20:50:10

I have the following code

auto layout=new Locale();
Stdout(layout("{:R}",WallClock.now));

which outputs a string such as "Mon, 13 Apr 2009 21:00:01 GMT".

I presume Tango somehow finds out from the OS that I'm in the UK and thus knows my time zone is normally GMT. Is there a way to take into consideration daylight saving time and thus return "BST" as opposed to "GMT"?

Posted: 04/14/09 01:07:11

Looking at the code, it appears that DST should be taken into account for WallClock?. Is this Win32, linux, other?

Posted: 04/14/09 18:58:02

This is with linux and the output from the date command on the terminal is "Tue Apr 14 19:55:23 BST 2009". The formatted output when using WallClock? is correct with the exception of the time zone now being BST as opposed to GMT.

Posted: 04/15/09 05:33:33

I'm no linux expert, but I think I see the problem. Values from WallClock are derived via the global variable timezone (initialized, I think, via a call to tzset). It would seem that value already includes DST, and thus results in BST values instead of GMT (the zone is correct, but the DST should be ignored).

I think this is a limitation of the WallClock module, in that it cannot (or does not have the ability to) distinguish between DST and non-DST periods. One of the things on the list is to implement our own DST calculations, but it hasn't happened yet.

As for the DateFormat: I'm afraid the 'R' specifier is locked (via a standard) to GMT. In this case, the clock value is inappropriate rather than the decoration. Sorry about that. You can always create an equivalent formatting pattern, with "BST" on the end instead of "GMT", and use that in place of the 'R' shorthand notation.