Download Reference Manual
The Developer's Library for D
About Wiki Forums Source Search Contact

Problem parsing XML

Moderators: kris

Posted: 03/27/09 07:46:15 Modified: 03/27/09 11:50:28

Hi, I'm a D/Tango newbie. I have to confess I find D/Tango confusing. It seems there is some conflict between D and Tango what versions are compatible etc. Then I find Tango difficult to use, but I do not give in easily. in the end I'll be good at D/Tango. Right now I have a simple problem that have stopped me for a day now. I try to pick up an XML structure:

<serverparms>
    <datawarehouse name='bait'>
        <cmd>start.php</cmd><option>logmode=warn</option>...
    </datawarehouse>
    <datawarehouse name='notwanted'/>
</serverparms>

I like to search this XML for a <datawarehouse> with name='bait' and pick up all children in an associative array, but I have no success. I tried some promising examples but they all seem to fail: e.g.

auto result = root.query.descendant("country").filter((serverdoc.Node node) {
		return contains!(char) (node.attributes.name("id").value, 'B');});

this example fails to compile with a errmsg something like Visitor do not have a name attribute or similar. ANY HELP HIGHLY APPRECIATED

Posted: 03/27/09 18:04:54

Looks like the name() function has an additional required parameter (for namespace purposes), and that example has not been updated. This will probably do what you want:

bool foo (doc.Node node)
{
   auto n = node.attributes.name (null, "name");
   return n && n.value == "bait";
}

foreach (node; doc.query.descendant("datawarehouse").filter(&foo).child)
         Stdout.formatln(">> {}", node.name);

Posted: 03/28/09 07:08:46

Hi Kris, Thanx for the suggestion, however it didn't solve my problem, I still got the error:

myserver.d(48): Error: no property 'name' for type 'Visitor' myserver.d(48): Error: function expected before (), not 1 of type int

The best reference I find in Document.d is this:

Visitor attributes () 
{