Download Reference Manual
The Developer's Library for D
About Wiki Forums Source Search Contact

programs not running

Moderators: kris

Posted: 10/31/08 07:43:19

Welcome everyone! This is me first post, and me english is way far from excellence... As i am not a programmer, but a beginner in D/Tango, it is quite difficult to solve problems basing on net sources (forums, wikis etc) only. So please, be patient ;)
I am having a problem with my program, which compiles without a single error, but throws them during running (if I can call it "running"..) Trying to write a D code which would get some information (particularly number) from a file and append it to a variable. I found some examples in a great book - Apress, "Learn Tango with D", like:

import tango.io.Stdout;
import tango.io.FileConduit;
import tango.io.stream.DataFileStream;

void main()
{
     auto file = new FileConduit ("some_file.txt");
     auto input = new DataFileInput (file);
     int x = input.getInt;
     Stdout.formatln("X equals: {}", x);
     scope (exit) file.close;
}

As I said, this can be easilly compiled, but if I try to run it, I get:

tango.core.Exception.IOException: end-of-flow whilst reading

Similarly with this:

import tango.io.Stdout;
import tango.text.convert.Format;
import tango.io.stream.DataFileStream;

void main()
{      
       char[] a = cast(char[]) File("some_file.txt").read;
       int x = atoi(a);                  // ### or x = a.parse(); ###
}

and the error is:

tango.core.Exception.IOException: unexpected eof

I already mentioned I learn D/Tango only for my purposes and pleasure and can't work it out.

wodzu777

Posted: 10/31/08 09:39:33

Hi wodzu, welcome to you :)

What are the contents of some_file.txt ?

Posted: 10/31/08 09:53:48 -- Modified: 10/31/08 09:55:42 by
wodzu777

Hi Larsivi! There are just integers in the file.

Thanks for the reply.

Posted: 10/31/08 11:12:22

Could you paste an example?

Posted: 10/31/08 11:37:15