FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

D Newbies

View previous topic :: View next topic  
exquisitus

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 6:55 am    Post subject: D Newbies Reply with quote

I am a newbie to D. Actually, I am hoping to be a newbie. I have not written my first line of D code yet. But I am sure I can because I have adequate C/C++ skills.

But, I have been reading quite a bit about D since reading about it on OsNews.com yesterday (2004/04/19). The more I read, the more I liked D. So, I decided to come here and signed up. I am in the process of writing my own OS. Yes, I am an OS hobbyist. The first question I have is, can D be called from C/Asm? I heard and read that D can use C API by linking against it. That is nice and dandy, but how will I make the jump from Asm/C to D if I wanted to write my OS in Asm & D?

Because of questions like that and possibly more as I try to make D useful. I decided to start this newbie topic.

Thanks all and D does look promising. I love Asm/C/C++, and to see a language that looks like C/C++ but cleans it up like Java, it is great. I really like some of the things I have been reading about D. One thing I didn't like about Java was that it forced you to be OO. D took the best of C, C++, Java, and I heard C#. I don't know anything of C#.

I look forward to participating.

.v
jcc7

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 8:49 am    Post subject: D As An OS Reply with quote

Welcome to D.

exquisitus wrote:
I am in the process of writing my own OS. Yes, I am an OS hobbyist. The first question I have is, can D be called from C/Asm? I heard and read that D can use C API by linking against it. That is nice and dandy, but how will I make the jump from Asm/C to D if I wanted to write my OS in Asm & D?