FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

D Development Tools

View previous topic :: View next topic  
debio

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 4:34 pm    Post subject: D Development Tools Reply with quote

Okay, this is kind of a postmortem analysis, so feel free to criticize me as long as it's constructive.
I'm a high school student, and within the last week, I completed and presented my final project for my computer science course. I wrote a working DHCP server with a few bells and whistles. It could have been better, but that didn't happen.
I was writing it in D until the last week, when I finally got fed up, took an all-nighter to convert it to Java, debugged it, added a GUI, and finished the project two days after (I had the backend pretty much working in D, and I was about to start working on the GUI when I switched to Java). I would have loved to finish the project in D, but I hit two walls.
Firstly, I'm spoiled by Eclipse. Now that I've said that, is D IDE support really as bad as it seems? I'm running Linux, and the only IDE I could find was the Descent plugin for Eclipse. While that project has made a good bit of progress, it can't successfully parse many templates, and it gives all sorts of strange errors once it hits one that it can't parse. Is there another IDE for Linux? Is there something more mature? As I said, Descent is making progress, but it isn't there yet. As I said though, I'm spoiled by Eclipse, and if nothing on that level is available for D, so be it.