FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Also trying OS/X with GDC 0.23

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Build
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Brian



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Talent, OR

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:23 am    Post subject: Also trying OS/X with GDC 0.23 Reply with quote

I'm trying OS/X on an older PowerPC and am getting the following message:

defaults-powerbook-g4-17:~/Documents/Downloads/bud-3.04/Source Tarka$ make -f Makefile.gdc
gdmd -op -release -inline -ofbuild build.d util/pathex_bn.d util/pathex.d source_bn.d util/str.d build_bn.d util/booltype.d util/fdt_bn.d util/str_bn.d source.d util/fdt.d util/fileex.d util/fileex_bn.d util/linetoken.d util/linetoken_bn.d util/macro.d util/file2.d
/usr/bin/ld: Undefined symbols:
__D3std1c6darwin6darwin12__ModuleInfoZ
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [build] Error 1

I changed the .darwin modul specs to .unix, but made no difference. Is there something else I need before using build on OS/X?

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
afb



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 137
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you changed to "std.c.unix.unix", you shouldn't get link errors like that ?
Maybe different errors, but not the same one. Perhaps you need to clean ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Talent, OR

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:47 am    Post subject: Nope, same error... Reply with quote

I went and deleted all the .o files I could find under the bud-3.04/Source directory and the util directory under that. I then re-issued make and got the same result.

I note this is different from the errors in the other post. I wonder if there's a problem with my configuration.

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlos



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Canyon, TX

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See http://dsource.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2552
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Brian



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Talent, OR

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:43 am    Post subject: Been there, did that Reply with quote

I made these changes. I'm still getting the link error.

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlos



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Canyon, TX

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has to be there somewhere. Grep for 'darwin' in the files you're compiling to see where it is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Brian



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Talent, OR

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 3:37 pm    Post subject: Sorry for the delay... Reply with quote

I've been busy trying to get a good set of D tools working on OS/X. I had postponed working on build in order to get an editory and debugger set up.

Now I've got that set up (well to a degree). I'm coming back to the problem of building bud and Tango. I've grepped for darwin in the source files in the bud-3.04 directory. Here's the output:

build.d:version(darwin) version = Posix;
build.d: else version(darwin)
build.d: static import std.c.darwin.darwin;
build.d: version(darwin)
build.d: ProcessBuildConfig("+darwin", lVerbose, vCombinedArgs);
source.d:version(darwin) version = Posix;
source.d: version(darwin) ActivateVersion("darwin");

I've grepped for ModuleInfo in the .d and .o files and found nothing. Is there anywhere else I should be looking?

Thanx

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Parnell



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Sorry for the delay... Reply with quote

Brian wrote:
I've been busy trying to get a good set of D tools working on OS/X. I had postponed working on build in order to get an editory and debugger set up.

Now I've got that set up (well to a degree). I'm coming back to the problem of building bud and Tango. I've grepped for darwin in the source files in the bud-3.04 directory. Here's the output:

build.d:version(darwin) version = Posix;
build.d: else version(darwin)
build.d: static import std.c.darwin.darwin;
build.d: version(darwin)
build.d: ProcessBuildConfig("+darwin", lVerbose, vCombinedArgs);
source.d:version(darwin) version = Posix;
source.d: version(darwin) ActivateVersion("darwin");

I've grepped for ModuleInfo in the .d and .o files and found nothing. Is there anywhere else I should be looking?

Thanx

Brian

Not actually have a Mac myself, I just assumed that there would be a std.c.darwin.darwin.d file in its system. If I got this wrong, please tell me what is needed to compile and link a D program in an OS/X environment.

I assume that you are not using the DigitalMars software but using GDC in some fashion. I've never used or even downloaded GDC so I haven't got much understanding about what it needs.

I have to find time to waste playing about with the GDC offering - on both Windows and linux.
_________________
--
Derek
skype name: derek.j.parnell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
afb



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 137
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Sorry for the delay... Reply with quote

Derek Parnell wrote:

Not actually have a Mac myself, I just assumed that there would be a std.c.darwin.darwin.d file in its system. If I got this wrong, please tell me what is needed to compile and link a D program in an OS/X environment.


std.c.linux.linux and std.c.darwin.darwin and friends have been replaced with std.c.unix.unix (for all of them) in the portable version of (g)Phobos...

There was a legacy std.c.darwin.darwin for a while, but it disappeared in the recent versions of GDC (0.22 or something ?). version(Unix) it is now.

So you need:
version(Windows)
version(linux) // for DMD
version(Unix) // for GDC
version(Posix) // for Tango

Note that Linux GDC sets *both* of linux and Unix.. Possibly Posix too. No idea what the difference between Windows and Win32 is, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Talent, OR

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Up to speed now... Reply with quote

Ok, I got it working. Turns out when I looked at the posting of how to change the std.c.darwin.darwin to std.c.unix.unix, I made the change in the ftd.d file because that's what was listed in the postings.

Bug grepping around I found it was in the build.d file also. I made that change, upgraded from gdc-0.22-mac... to gdc-0.23-mac... and everything compiles (though like that other posting, not with the -op option).

So I've got a functional build of build now. Onward...

Thanx again for everyone's help.

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Build All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group