FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Zooming
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ChristianK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:39 pm    Post subject: Zooming Reply with quote

With modern-day 2d graphics being done through 3d libraries, wouldn't it be rather simple to implement zooming and correct draw order?

For zooming, you would just alter the camera's distance from the viewplane - or increase the viewable area in case of orthogonal projections and to make OpenGL handle the draw order, you would use the z coordinate.

I have to admit that I have no experience with raw OpenGL, nor do I know how Arc implements its image drawing. My question at the moment: Is it already possible to adjust the camera and the z coordinates for objects in Arc at the moment? If not, what are your feelings about it?

I've already poked at the code a bit. Am I right that one could already do the camera-zooming by calling setVirtualSize and mode2D from arc.io.window? Adjusting the z coordinate per sprite seems not possible at the moment, but I assume setting the unused coordinate in the

Code:

glTranslatef(pos.getX,pos.getY,0);

call in arc.gfx.prim would do the trick?
Phr00t

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woah, what would be awesome for FreeUniverse (if you werent thinking this already) -- is to adjust the zoom on the player's ship according to how fast the player is flying Very Happy
ChristianK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Woah, what would be awesome for FreeUniverse (if you werent thinking this already) -- is to adjust the zoom on the player's ship according to how fast the player is flying

This is indeed what I was thinking about. Smile