FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Ares or Phobos?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
sonicbhoc

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:45 pm    Post subject: Ares or Phobos? Reply with quote

I'm new to programming in D (as you could probably tell by my postcount) so, which one should I use? I want to start programming games. I have a moderate amount of experience in Visual Basic (it does everything for you <_< ) and some in Java (I made a virtual store). So, which one should I use?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
sean

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It really depends on what your goal is. Ares has far fewer user-level features than Phobos, so at the moment if you plan to use Ares for "normal" work, you may want to also use Mango for its IO and other facilities. I also haven't been maintaining Ares very diligently lately, so it may not be as up to date as Phobos with recent DMD fixes. That said, I have been considering an Ares redesign that will address most of its current deficiencies, so stay tuned.

By the way, if you decide to try out Ares and run into a snag, please post here and I'll look into it.
sonicbhoc

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I want to start programming games... Kinda like what Kenta Cho did with D (see rrootage).
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
pragma

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sonic:

Ares is going to leave you with a smaller .exe footprint, and arguably a better library design than phobos. Sean has put a lot of effort into making it more sound for multithreading than phobos - the Atomic module is a great example of this.