FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Selector support (select/poll/epoll/WaitForMultipleObjects)
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jcomellas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:20 am    Post subject: Selector support (select/poll/epoll/WaitForMultipleObjects) Reply with quote

I am new to D and I'm trying to add explicit support for select/poll/epoll/WaitForMultipleObjects/etc.. Basically, what I'm doing is adding something similar to Java's NIO Selector to mango.io. The problem I'm having is that I want to be able to "select" on different types of Conduits, not just sockets, but the Conduit classes do not expose their underlying file descriptor/handle. Would it be possible to add that?

Once I'm done with this I want to add an implementation of the Reactor (I/O Demultiplexer) pattern based on this. Something like what the ACE (C++) and the Twisted (Python) frameworks have.
kris

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds interesting!

I took a look at doing something like this too, but had a bit of a shock when I saw the state of play on the *nix side (I'm a *nix neophyte). Are you thinking Win32 only, or cross-platform?
jcomellas

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was planning on doing this at least for Windows and Linux. The classes will be available for the following platforms, according to the system call used:

select(): Windows and POSIX (practically everywhere)
poll(): POSIX
epoll(): Linux 2.6
WaitForMultipleObjects(): Windows