FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Library Chaos
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
lgoss007

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:27 pm    Post subject: Library Chaos Reply with quote

Hello all. I'm a C++ programmer by night, but for my job most of my coding has to be in C#. I've come to like some of the simplicities of C#/.NET, but I've always preferred system languages that are general purpose (allow many styles of programming). But what C# really shines in is it's libraries.

Well I've been wandering around the various D sites trying to get caught up on all that is going on in the language and in the library realm, and it appears to be segregated and sort of chaotic. A lot of projects seem to adapt their own libraries (mango for instance with it's FileSystem, Sockets, etc.) and their doesn't seem to be one standard library (which simplifies things greatly).

So... what direction is Ares heading? Are you planning in the future to have an all inclusive library (database support, imaging, etc.)? Or will the library encompass a few select standards?

I ask because I would like to help out somewhere with the Linux part of some library, especially in the area of 3d graphics, such as OpenGL, X Windows, OpenSceneGraph, etc. However I'd rather not create a whole seperate library of my own, I'd prefer most of my work to be part of a "standard" library (even if the standard is seperated out into seperate parts).

Anyways, I had to just get all of that out. I'm just really interested in doing some OpenGL stuff in D and I'd like it to be in a standard library (after all OpenGL is a standard Very Happy ). Also I think Vectors, Matricies, and a whole slew of 3D libraries and math would be nice to have in the library. Ok, I'll stop now, thanks for listening.