FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

feedback
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Visual D
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sagitario



Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could add a dedicated command for Visual D. This would mean another shortcut, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Extrawurst



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

another shortcut should not be a problem since you can overload them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sagitario



Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have verified that it actually is caused by Visual Assist. If you are not mixing D and C/C++ in a solution, you can simply disable Visual Assist when working with the D solution.

You cannot assign the same key to 2 different commands in the text editor, so you'll have to use another key in D than in C++ to get the same thing, i.e. parameter tooltips. This feels a little inconsistent.

A macro might help, that switches between commands depending on the language type of the document...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Extrawurst



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sagitario wrote:
I have verified that it actually is caused by Visual Assist. If you are not mixing D and C/C++ in a solution, you can simply disable Visual Assist when working with the D solution.


yeah that works for vs2005. perhaps you should create a faq in the wiki for stuff like that.

sagitario wrote:
You cannot assign the same key to 2 different commands in the text editor, so you'll have to use another key in D than in C++ to get the same thing, i.e. parameter tooltips. This feels a little inconsistent.


couldn't you create a whole subgroup of commands for that just like visual assist does ? that way the user can assign shortcuts that are used elsewhere.

sagitario wrote:
A macro might help, that switches between commands depending on the language type of the document...


i am not exactly sure what u mean by macro, but i am strongly aggainst anything weird that no other plugin forces the user to do.
anyway, toggleing visual assist is not too big a deal, visual studio 2005 is a bit dusty anyway already. perhaps you could submit a ticket at the visual assist developers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sagitario



Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Extrawurst wrote:
yeah that works for vs2005.


I have not tried, but I guess it will also apply to VS2008 and VS2010.

Quote:
perhaps you should create a faq in the wiki for stuff like that.


Yes, I have a few issues on that list already...

Extrawurst wrote:
couldn't you create a whole subgroup of commands for that just like visual assist does ? that way the user can assign shortcuts that are used elsewhere.


There is already a "VisualD" subgroup, and I have added the command "ParameterInfo" to it.

Extrawurst wrote:
sagitario wrote:
A macro might help, that switches between commands depending on the language type of the document...


i am not exactly sure what u mean by macro, but i am strongly aggainst anything weird that no other plugin forces the user to do.
anyway, toggleing visual assist is not too big a deal, visual studio 2005 is a bit dusty anyway already. perhaps you could submit a ticket at the visual assist developers.


I mean the stuff you write or use from within the Macro IDE/Explorer. I have implemented it like this:
Code:

    Sub ParameterInfo()
        If ActiveDocument.Language = "D" Then
            DTE.ExecuteCommand("VisualD.ParameterInfo")
        Else
            DTE.ExecuteCommand("Edit.ParameterInfo")
        End If
    End Sub


but it produces a bit of annoying screen flickering.

Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Extrawurst



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sagitario wrote:
Extrawurst wrote:
yeah that works for vs2005.


I have not tried, but I guess it will also apply to VS2008 and VS2010.


VS2008 i cannot test, but VS2010 did not have the problem in the first place since VD 0.3.14.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sagitario



Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried VS2010 with Visual Assist? If it works there, I can try VS2008, and if it is actually an issue with VS2005, the workaround should be good enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Extrawurst



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah i tried it with VS2010 and VA installed. it works. the workaround is just for VS2005.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sagitario



Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yesterday I verified that VS2008 behaves the same as VS2005.

I'll update the "Known issues" page...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponce



Joined: 12 Nov 2009
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed the latest version and was able to compile a small project.
And wow, I'm very impressed by the completion!
It's actually the first time that I get to debug D program with a debugger. Thanks Smile
_________________
@p0unce | gamesfrommars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sagitario



Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback.

Actually, I consider the code completion one of the weaker parts, because it just collects the matching identifiers from the current text buffer and anything found in the generated JSON browse info.

Making it a bit more intelligent is on my list, but I'd like to avoid too much background processing that can make the UI sluggish.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Visual D All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group