FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can't make GDB debug
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Descent
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
asterite



Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can see that registered users can modify the wiki and create new pages, so go ahead...

What's lacking from gdc support? I guess it doesn't understand D as well as ddbg, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
3-S-E



Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I am referring to gdc (the compiler), not gdb (the debugger)...
I've opened a new topic earlier this week concerning the gdb problem solved here, but at my post scriptum I asked for gdc:


http://www.dsource.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
L



Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 21
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for fixing this issue that quick.

When will be the next release?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asterite



Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know yet, but you can download the last nightly build which contain that bug fix:

http://dsource.org/projects/descent/browser/downloads/nightly-builds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
3-S-E



Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah,

that's cool! Thank you!

What about a link to that nightly-build-page at the frontpage?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asterite



Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's there, but has been added about two or three days ago. See the "Nightly Builds" section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
piotrek



Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My configuration:

ubuntu 8.04
gdb 6.8-debian
eclipse 3.4
descent0.5.3.20080902
rebuild with -g switch
dmd

And I have still the gdb issue. I mean the one with stopping at a breakpoint but not switching to debug mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
asterite



Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post the output you get in the Console view? (just until the breakpoint is hit, but nothing happens).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
piotrek



Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should gdb work out-of-the-box with the latest build?

Code:
GNU gdb 6.8-debian
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i486-linux-gnu"...
(gdb) Breakpoint 1 at 0x8049262: file /home/piotrek/ddev/proj/first_eclipse/first.d, line 9.
(gdb) (gdb) Starting program: /home/piotrek/ddev/proj/first_eclipse/first
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 0xb7d648c0 (LWP 7188)]
[Switching to Thread 0xb7d648c0 (LWP 7188)]

Breakpoint 1, 0x08049262 in _Dmain ()
Current language:  auto; currently asm
(gdb) 


Code:
module first;

import tango.io.Stdout;



void main(char[][] argv){
   int i = 34;
   int j =12;
   Stdout(i).newline();

}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
asterite



Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really have no idea. This happened also to another guy. The problem gdb is not telling you the filename where the breakpoint is hit:

Code:
Breakpoint 1, 0x08049262 in _Dmain ()


I get this instead:

Code:
Breakpoint 1, _Dmain () at main.d:9


And here is my full console output:

Code:
GNU gdb 6.8-debian
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i486-linux-gnu"...
(gdb) Breakpoint 1 at 0x80562d0: file main.d, line 9.
(gdb) (gdb) Starting program: /home/asterite/runtime-EclipseApplication/Test-Gdb/main
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 0xb7dc16b0 (LWP 8642)]
[Switching to Thread 0xb7dc16b0 (LWP 8642)]

Breakpoint 1, _Dmain () at main.d:9
/home/asterite/runtime-EclipseApplication/Test-Gdb/main.d:9:86:beg:0x80562d0
Current language:  auto; currently minimal
(gdb) #0  _Dmain () at main.d:9
#1  0x08056c3b in runMain () at dgccmain2.d:285
#2  0x08056da9 in tryExec (dg={object = 0x1, func = 0x8073008})
    at dgccmain2.d:233
#3  0x080573ac in runAll () at dgccmain2.d:293
#4  0x08056da9 in tryExec (dg={object = 0x1, func = 0x8073008})
    at dgccmain2.d:233
#5  0x080572a1 in _d_run_main (argc=1, argv=0xbfa47b64,
    main_func=0x80562bf <_Dmain>) at dgccmain2.d:300
#6  0x08056bfb in main (argc=1, argv=0x8073008) at cmain.d:5
(gdb) #0  _Dmain () at main.d:9
/home/asterite/runtime-EclipseApplication/Test-Gdb/main.d:9:86:beg:0x80562d0
(gdb) No arguments.
(gdb) x = 1
(gdb) The program is running.  Exit anyway? (y or n) [answered Y; input not from terminal]


(it's longer because the breakpoint was catched by Descent and it asks gdb the stack trace)

The only difference I can see is you have "Current language: auto; currently asm", while I have "Current language: auto; currently minimal". But I remember trying to change my language to asm, or another, and it worked anyway.

You should really ask the gdb guys why this could be happening. If you find something, please let us know!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
piotrek



Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked how gdb react on language change (dmd binary).

Code:
piotrek@hn:~/ddev/proj/first_eclipse$ gdb  first_dmd
GNU gdb 6.8-debian
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i486-linux-gnu"...
(gdb) break first.d:6
Breakpoint 1 at 0x8048ff1: file first.d, line 6.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /home/piotrek/ddev/proj/first_eclipse/first_dmd
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 0xb7e2c6b0 (LWP 10882)]
[Switching to Thread 0xb7e2c6b0 (LWP 10882)]

Breakpoint 1, 0x08048ff1 in _Dmain ()
Current language:  auto; currently asm
(gdb) set language minimal
Warning: the current language does not match this frame.
(gdb) show language
The current source language is "minimal".
Warning: the current language does not match this frame.
(gdb) set language auto
(gdb) show language
The current source language is "auto; currently asm".
(gdb)


And then tried with gdc

Code:
piotrek@hn:~/ddev/proj/first_eclipse$ gdc -g first.d -o first_gdc
piotrek@hn:~/ddev/proj/first_eclipse$ gdb  first_gdc
GNU gdb 6.8-debian
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i486-linux-gnu"...
(gdb) break first.d:6
Breakpoint 1 at 0x804a0ac: file first.d, line 6.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /home/piotrek/ddev/proj/first_eclipse/first_gdc
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 0xb7d2d6b0 (LWP 10205)]
[Switching to Thread 0xb7d2d6b0 (LWP 10205)]

Breakpoint 1, _Dmain () at first.d:6
6      int j =12;
Current language:  auto; currently minimal
(gdb)


And it looks like gdb doesn't support dmd output (at least the version I have), but gdc seems to work :/

When I use gdc then the Descent's debugging view works fine.

So the question is if gdb can recognize dmd output?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JoeCoder



Joined: 29 Oct 2005
Posts: 294

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wanted to say that I'm having this same issue also, and my project doesn't yet compile with gdc Sad

Kubuntu 8.10
DMD 1.036
GDB 6.8 Debian
Dowloaded descent less than a week ago.
Tried compiling with both the -g and -gc arguments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Descent All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group